Carpe Diem’s “Tackle It Tuesday” #6, Veracity

Standard

diamonds

 

Dear Haijin, visitors and travelers,

Today we walk on on our path along the 18-ity’s of Swami Sivananda and this week it’s all about reliability and credibility. Don’t overreact. Don’t turn the facts. Say the truth, don’t talk un-truth. Stay true to yourself. How credible are you, if you say this and do something else? Than you are not credible. For example: Someone asks you to do something for him/her, but you don’t like what they ask of you, and you are not willing to do it for him/her. What are you doing than? Can you be honest and friendly and respectful? Yes … I think that is what you can do. Ask if you can do it later or say that you don’t want to do it. be honest. If someone asks you something, but you don’t know the answer? Than be honest and tell him/her that you don’t know it.

For example: Sometimes my patients ask me question about their medicines. Mostly I can answer those questions, but sometimes I don’t know it. Than I tell them that I can’t tell them, because I don’t know it, but I will look for it and if I have the answer I will come back to them and tell them.

Another strong aspect of this ity is: think before you promise something. Can you keep your promise, can you do what they ask of you?
Veracity is about reflecting on your own acting. In other words … look at yourself from a distance … who am I? Can I keep my promise? Can I do what they are asking me?

http://www.okharris.com/current/press59p.htm

Veracity painting by Robert Ginder 2007

Can I write a haiku/senryu inspired on ‘veracity’? I don’t know, but I have to try it …

keeping promises
after the long cold winter
spring will come again

© Chèvrefeuille

Not a strong one, but I think it’s close to ‘veracity’ … well … now it’s your turn … This episode of Carpe Diem’s “Tackle It Tuesday” is open for your submissions at noon (CET) and will remain open until next tuesday, September 16th, at noon (CET).

 

3 thoughts on “Carpe Diem’s “Tackle It Tuesday” #6, Veracity

Leave a Reply

